skip to Main Content

2018 Contest Information

Saturday, June 23, 2018
Kiwanis Stage, Sonoma-Marin Fairgrounds
Pet Fest: 2: 00 – 8:00 PM
Contest: 6:00 PM

Entries submitted by May 14, 2018 will be FREE!
After May 15th, each entry will be $10 and is due when submitting your entry form, photo and biography.
All entries CLOSED – Wednesday, June 20.
Contestant Hotline phone number is 707-867-6598

2017 Winners

Martha – 2017 World’s Ugliest Dog®
Owner: Shirley Zindler

Second Place: Moe – Miriam Tcheng
Third Place: Chase – Storm Shayler
Spirit Award: Precious – Catherine Kennedy

Now Accepting Entries

Join the fun by entering your adorable pup into this year’s World’s Ugliest Dog®
Contest. Show the world how lovable your dog really is by signing up today. The top 3 winners will receive a trophy, cash prize, and notoriety. The first place winner will be swept off to New York for television appearances with a grand prize of $1500.

Entering is easy and free through May 14. Please send completed entry form, written biography for your dog, a high quality digital photo of the pup, and proof of updated vaccinations to the following: Deadline to enter is June 20 by 5 p.m.

World’s Ugliest Dog® Contest
Sonoma-Marin Fair
175 Fairgrounds Drive
Petaluma, CA 94952

You can contact us with questions on the CONTESTANT HOTLINE at 707-867- 6598 and via email at

About the Contest

For nearly 30 years, the World’s Ugliest Dog® Contest has been a testament that the pedigree does not define the pet. Dogs of all breeds and sizes have warmed our hearts and filled our lives with unconditional love. This world-renowned event celebrates the imperfections that make all dogs special and unique.

The day begins with pre-contest entertainment and information on pet care and adoption. Each pup and handler will bask in the limelight as they are escorted along the red carpet to show off their unique beauty to the judges, international media, celebrity host, and fans. It’s a wonderful show of pageantry and pride.

And while fun and entertaining, the contest speaks to the importance of advocating for the adoration of all animals and the benefits of adopting. Many of the contestant dogs have been rescued from shelters and puppy mills, to find loving homes in the hands of those willing to adopt. Please join us in raising awareness and support for the pets yet to be placed in a loving home.

2018 Judging Team

Brian Sobel

Brian Sobel is the principal consultant for Sobel Communications of Petaluma, California.

Sobel has many years of experience in the private and public sectors.  Educated at San Francisco State University, majoring in Broadcast Communication Arts and Journalism, Sobel worked in radio and television and was News Director for two radio stations.  Before opening his consulting firm, Sobel spent several years working for a major corporation as a writer, training consultant and video producer….

Read More

Paige Braddock

By day, Braddock is the Creative Director at Charles M. Schulz Creative Associates. She has illustrated several PEANUTS children’s books. The Snoopy U.S. postage stamp issued in April 2001 was designed by Braddock. In 2015, she began publishing her own line of graphic novels for children with Andrews McMeel Publishing titled, STINKY CECIL IN OPERATION POND RESCUE and STINKY CECIL IN TERRARIUM TERROR.

Paige Braddock’s long-running comic strip, JANE’S WORLD, was the first gay-themed work to receive online distribution by a national media syndicate in the U.S. Daily installments of JANE’S WORLD appear on GoComics. There are currently 11 volumes of the comic strip in print.

Read More

Kerry Sanders

Kerry Sanders has been NBC’s Miami-based correspondent since 1996, covering news mainly in the South and throughout Latin America. Sanders contributes regularly to “NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams,” “Today,” MSNBC and occasionally to “Dateline NBC.”

Sanders covers breaking news and feature stories. He has more than 30 years experience providing in-the-field-reports during hurricanes. He was a member of the NBC Nightly News reporting team that was awarded a Peabody and the RTNDA Edward R. Murrow Award for coverage of Hurricane Katrina….

Read More

Back To Top